She Who Heals – An American Indian Healing Prayer


Mother, sing
me a song
That will ease my pain,
Mend broken bones,
Bring wholeness again.

Catch my
babies
When they are born,

Sing my death song,
Teach me
how to mourn.

Show me the Medicine
Of the healing
herbs,
The value of spirit,
The way I can serve.

Mother, heal my heart
So that I can
see
The gifts of yours
That can live through me

American Indians believe that every act of life is a
cycle or step on the path to healing. When we learn how to let go of our need to
hold on to the past, we heal our formerly limited potential for growth. When we
find courage and faith inside ourselves, we can heal our fear of future. We
refuse to mentally degrade ourselves. The mind clears and allows us to be
present-conscious of everything that is happening in the moment. These are all
examples of healing the fragments of our lives that need to come into wholeness.
When we go beyond the places where we have become numb, we feel life again. When
we learn to feel again, we can heal.

Source: http://1stholistic.com/spl_prayers/prayer_heal-AmIndian.htm

Leave a Reply

